电子邮件:info@sabogavacations.com

珍珠岛度假短租

Isla Saboga

萨博加和珍珠群岛的历史非常丰富,可追溯到哥伦比亚时代之前。 为退潮捕鱼而建造的许多贝壳和鱼类捕捞器是在西班牙人抵达之前居住在这里的原始土着人民的提醒。 鱼陷阱,也称为鱼腐,今天仍被当地村民使用,超过500最初建成后的年份。 史密森尼赞助的附近Isla Pedro Gonzales的考古发掘历史可以追溯到8,000年代

Saboga上的贝壳是垃圾堆,土着人扔掉垃圾。 各种各样的海贝壳告诉我们很多关于它们的海洋饮食,破碎的陶器碎片与贝壳混合在一起。

到1530年-哥伦布发现美洲不到40年之后-Saboga上的所有土著人民都死于疾病或被西班牙征服者处决。 没有当地人口,西班牙人无法收获珍珠,这些珍珠给这些岛起了名字。 因此,他们迅速从非洲引进奴隶进行珍珠潜水,直到今天,他们的后代仍住在岛上。 萨博加(Saboga),佩德罗·冈萨雷斯(Pedro Gonzales)上有当地的渔村,雷伊岛(Isla del Rey)上有三个渔村,都是原始奴隶后代的家。

到1860年左右,较浅,更容易收获的珍珠牡蛎已经基本消失,潜水员不得不越来越深地饲养牡蛎。 为了解决这个问题,德国工程师Julius H. Kroehl从纽约带来了他的新发明。 它是世界上第一艘真正的潜水艇,“潜艇海洋探险者”,它使潜水员能够以比他们自己能承受的深度更大的深度收获珍珠牡蛎。 潜水艇使用加压空气将水拒之门外,以便潜水员只需打开底部的舱口并游出以收集牡蛎。 不幸的是,包括德国发明家克罗尔在内的全体船员最终因先前未知的减压病死亡,导致整个合资企业和潜艇本身被放弃。 现在,它就坐落在海滩上,在那里他们将其抛弃在圣特尔莫岛上,并在退潮时露出来,并逐渐腐蚀掉。

当珍珠产业因过度捕捞而最终崩溃时,这些岛屿变得模糊不清。 1900早期日本养殖珍珠产业的发展注定了这一点。

然后建造了巴拿马运河,由于运河的战略重要性,珍珠岛也受到了美国海军的保护。 第二次世界大战期间在这些岛屿上建造了几个机场,以便侦察机可以搜索日本潜艇。 直到2年代,自1970年代西班牙人到达西班牙以来,岛上才进行了第一次开发。 孔塔多拉岛(Isla Contadora)岛是为富裕的巴拿马家庭和富裕的国际喷气机订户提供度假屋的岛屿。 多年来,许多好莱坞著名演员和商业大亨将Contadora列为其度假胜地之一。

Chinese (Simplified)DutchEnglishFrenchGermanItalianPortugueseRussianSpanish

email: info@sabogavacations.com

Vacation Rentals

Isla Saboga

Saboga and the Pearl Islands has a very rich history dating far back into pre-Colombian times. Numerous shell middens and fish traps built to capture fish at low tide are the reminders of the original indigenous peoples who lived here before the Spanish arrived. The fish traps, also called fish corrrals, are still used today by the local villagers more than 500 years after they were originally built. Smithsonian-sponsored archaelogical excavations on nearby Isla Pedro Gonzales have been dated back over 8,000 years

The shell middens on Saboga are the garbage dumps where the indigenous people threw out their trash. The variety of sea shells tell us a lot about their marine diet, and shards of broken pottery are mixed in with the shells.

By 1530 – less than 40 years after Columbus’ discovery of the Americas – all the indigenous people on Saboga were dead of either disease or execution by the Spanish conquistadors. Without a local population, the Spanish had no way to harvest the pearls that gave the islands their name. So, they quickly imported slaves from Africa to do the pearl diving, and their descendants live here in the islands to this day. There are local fishing villages on Saboga, Pedro Gonzales, and three on Isla del Rey that are all home to descendants of the original slaves.

By around 1860, the shallower, easier to harvest pearl oysters were already mostly gone, and divers were having to go deeper and deeper to bring up oysters. To solve the problem, Julius H. Kroehl, a German engineer brought his new invention down from New York. It was the world’s first true submarine, the ‘Sub Marine Explorer’, and it enabled divers to harvest pearl oysters at a much greater depth than they were capable of reaching on their own. The submarine used pressurized air to keep the water out so that divers could simply open the hatch at the bottom and swim out to collect oysters. Unfortunately, the eventual deaths of the entire crew, including the German inventor Kroehl, from previously unknown decompression sickness led to the abandonment of the entire venture and the submarine itself. It now rests just off the beach where they abandoned it on Isla San Telmo, and is exposed at low tide and is slowly corroding away.

When the pearl industry finally collapsed due to over-fishing, the islands drifted into obscurity. The development of the cultured pearl industry in Japan in the early 1900s doomed it for good.

Then the Panama Canal was built, and the Pearl Islands came under the protection of the United States Navy, due to the canal’s strategic importance. Several airfields were built in the islands during World War 2 so that spotter planes could search for Japanese submarines. It wasn’t until the 1970s that the first development was done in the islands since the Spanish arrived in 1530s. Isla Contadora was developed as an island for vacation homes for affluent Panamanian families and wealthy international jet-setters. Over the years many famous Hollywood actors and business tycoons have made Contadora one of their vacation spots.

DutchEnglishFrenchGermanItalianPortugueseRussianSpanish